ALERT – Contact House Finance Members to Support $1 Tobacco Tax


Smoking cost!

SB-420 would increase the state’s cigarette tax by $1.00 to $1.55 as well as increase the tax on other tobacco products from 7% to 12% and institute a tax on e-cigerettes. This bill is currently pending in the House Finance Committee.

The economic toll tobacco takes on human lives in West Virginia is enormous. The state spends over $900 million a year on the direct health care costs of smoking, according to the West Virginia Bureau for Public Health.

It is well documented that increasing the price of tobacco products is the single most effective strategy in reducing tobacco use, especially among youth.

Passage of the $1 increase in the cigarette tax may be the most important vote the legislature will cast this year and will have the greatest long term impact. In addition to providing revenue in this very challenging budget year and into the future, passage of a substantial tobacco tax increase will save lives and prevent thousands of West Virginia children from a lifetime of addition.

Contact members of the House Finance Committee TODAY and  ask them to support the tobacco tax increase amounts in SB-420 as it passed the Senate.

House Finance Committee Members:

House Finance Chairman Eric Nelson: Phone: 304-340-3230; Email: nelson@wvhouse.gov

Vice Chairman Eric Householder: Phone: 304-340-3274; Email: eric.householder@wvhouse.gov

Minority Chairman Brent Boggs: Phone: 304-340-3142; Email: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov

Minority Vice Chairwoman Nancy Guthrie: Phone: 304-340-3156; Email: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Anderson: Phone: 304-340-3168; Email: bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mick Bates: Phone: 304-340-3180; Email: mick.bates@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jim Butler: Phone: 304-340-3199; Email: jim.butler@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ray Canterbury: Phone: 304-340-3131; Email: ray.canterbury@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Paul Espinosa: Phone: 304-340-3130; Email: paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov

Delegate David Evans: Phone: 304-340-3151; Email: david.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Cindy Frich: Phone: 304-340-3125; Email: cindy.frich@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Marty Gearheart: Phone: 304-340-3179; Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton: Phone: 304-340-3167; Email: bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Longstreth: Phone: 304-340-3124; Email: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller: Phone: 304-340-3176; Email: carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ricky Moye: Phone: 304-340-3162; Email: rmoyewvhouse@yahoo.com

Delegate John O’Neal: Phone: 304-340-3164; Email: john.oneal@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dave Pethtel: Phone: 304-340-3158; Email: dave.pethtel@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Reynolds: Phone: 304-340-3280; E-mail: delegatedoug@yahoo.com

Delegate Erikka Storch: Phone: 304-340-3378; Email: erikka.storch@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ron Walters: Phone: 304-340-3194; Email: ron.walters@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman: Phone: 304-340-3171; Email: terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Steve Westfall: Phone: 304-340-3140; Email: steve.westfall@wvhouse.gov

 

Share Button

Comments are closed.